Administrative Note (Policy)

Hi everyone, I want to start by thanking you all for your constructive and fascinating responses to Living in Japan Without Being a Gaijin. This post has been getting a lot of hits in the last couple of days, mostly thanks to my Facebook fans. I’m overjoyed that my opinions have had an impact on so many readers.

People interpreted this post in a wide variety of ways, and I suppose that’s to be expected when the subject is so controversial. And this makes me glad, because it is a complex issue that I think people should give serious thought to. However, despite the majority of polite and well-thought-out responses, I received a few that were just plain rude (they do not appear on this website).

At the risk of sounding a bit harsh, I want to remind readers that Finding Fukuoka is not an open forum–it is my website, and I control all content that appears on it. I screen every response to my posts, and if I judge that a response is rude, unconstructive, racist or inappropriate in any way, I will delete it and block future responses from that user. This was my policy at Osaka Insider, and it is my policy here. I have no patience for such people.

I have no problem with people expressing opinions that differ from mine–on the contrary, challenges to my way of thinking give me the opportunity to grow as an individual. It is the manner in which people express their opinions that is important to me.

Again, I want to thank everyone for their contributions, and I hope that Finding Fukuoka will continue to serve as a useful source of information on Fukuoka, Kyushu and Japan in general.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

